Yaesu FT-1500M

Forum dedicated to discussion on Yaesu Amateur Radio products

Moderator: willbartlett

Post Reply
User avatar
n9gik
Site Supporter
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:41 am
Location: SE IL

Yaesu FT-1500M

Post by n9gik » Thu Mar 20, 2008 9:56 pm

I recently went to a hamfest and sold my old Kenwood TM-241a and bought a Yaesu FT-1500M . All I can say is programming a Kenwood is sure different than programming a Yaesu.

It is supposed to have a broadband receiver so I can use it to monitor my EMS/Fire dispatch frequency. But it won't tune above 147.995. How do I get the extended receive to work? Is there a programming step I am missing? Or is it a possibility I have European model? If so how do I confirm it?
I don't know much about 2-way radios but I'm over 50 and can't remember not having one around. Everything from Buddy and Citi-fone to Icom and Kenwood.

k2hz
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Yaesu FT-1500M

Post by k2hz » Fri Mar 21, 2008 11:06 am

Check the jumpers (Jp1001-1004) near the microprocessor.

On the regular, unmodified, US model, I believe that 1 and 4 should be in and 2 and 3 open. Not sure about 5 and 6. For more info check the MARS/Cap modification info on the mods.dk website.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest